TIME FOR ME

timeforme

It is time to start writing again.  I haven’t written lately because I have been busy and I have found it hard to express all my thoughts lately.  I have so many ideas and so many things I want to say and I don’t know where to start.  AAAAAGHHH!@!

I am pretty much an open book – I share my thoughts, feelings and really try to be honest even when it hurts me!  Where to start – well, there is always my health and my weight; or it could be raising a teenager and learning to trust; or it could be sharing leadership or coaching advise, or maybe I could share some words of inspiration.

I have so many things going through my mind, like so many of you do.  I think we all want to be the best person that we can be.  We want to have a great career, spend lots of time with our family and be great parents.  We also want to take time for ourselves and make an impact on others.  How can we do it all?  We have kids in school, aging parents, demanding bosses, bills to be paid, church events, sports events to attend, chores around the house…oh the list goes on…and on.

So how do we react to it all?  Do we get frazzled? Do we make lists to remind us where and when to be places?  Do we try to be everything to all people? We just can’t let anyone down – now can we?   Well – I have tried all these things and I realized that I need to make time for myself as well.  If I am always busy taking care of everything else and everyone else – I will (and have) fell apart and then what?

This is where I usually try to fix everything myself – I start organizing, coordinating, collaborating and try to make everything better. I just need to control it and things will get better. Yeah, right?    I am learning the lesson slowly, however, I am trying to let go and let God take control.  I need to TRUST him more.  He always has a better plan for me. One of my favorite verses is Jeremiah 29:11 New International Version

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So why can’t I be patient and wait for God to take charge? Personally – I just want God to tell me what he has planned for me; but I know a lot of his plans include my journeys to the plan.   I am doing small things to gradually make this change and follow his plan.  I am turning to prayer immediately when I have a decision to make.  Then I read my Bible and look for answers there.  I read Romans 12 every day to remind myself on how to live.  I need that reminder every day!  I listen to Christian music and I find lots of answers or confirmations there.  I plan to share a blog soon about a song that literally changed my life overnight!  I am still praying through it all.  Often I will seek counsel of coaches, pastors, or close friends to get guidance and advice.  I hope that they will say something that confirms what I believe God is saying to me.  It is hard not to think something is a sign when it isn’t.  For me I have to have about three signs pointing me in the right direction before I get the hint.  God is so patient with me.  I always want to do the right things but often find myself doing the things I hate.  God showed me these verses recently and I have pondered them for several weeks.  Romans 7:  13- 25 The Message Bible   13 I can already hear your next question: “Does that mean I can’t even trust what is good [that is, the law]? Is good just as dangerous as evil?” No again! Sin simply did what sin is so famous for doing: using the good as a cover to tempt me to do what would finally destroy me. By hiding within God’s good commandment, sin did far more mischief than it could ever have accomplished on its own.  14-16 I can anticipate the response that is coming: “I know that all God’s commands are spiritual, but I’m not. Isn’t this also your experience?” Yes. I’m full of myself—after all, I’ve spent a long time in sin’s prison. What I don’t understand about myself is that I decide one way, but then I act another, doing things I absolutely despise. So if I can’t be trusted to figure out what is best for myself and then do it, it becomes obvious that God’s command is necessary.  17-20 But I need something more! For if I know the law but still can’t keep it, and if the power of sin within me keeps sabotaging my best intentions, I obviously need help! I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.  21-23 It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. I truly delight in God’s commands, but it’s pretty obvious that not all of me joins in that delight. Parts of me covertly rebel, and just when I least expect it, they take charge.  24 I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question?  25 The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does. He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind, but am pulled by the influence of sin to do something totally different.

So my promise to God, myself and you…I will make time for me. I will use this time to work on myself spiritually, physically, mentally, emotionally, financially, and every possible way.  I want to ensure that I am the best ME that I can be and I know it is time to start!   Hope you will find time to make time for you!

Prayers and Blessings.

Leigh

About LeighChristian

Your Connections Coach, a Christian, Mom, Wife, Daughter, Sister, Aunt, Friend, Volunteer, Hard Worker, Life Changer, Leader - and so much more! I am 51 years old (yes for real), live in Alabama and am a re-energized Christian. I am changing my life one thing at a time. I am making Physical, Mental and Spiritual Changes. I hope to encourage you to change things that you want to change. I share about my life and things that I think are important. I didn't start out to have a Christian blog, but that is clearly where God led me! Pray for me as I share my story. I am known for my connections...to God, others and self! I have founded a Christian Ministry with a good friend called Empire ChristFit. We will start a blog in that name as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

