Giving Gifts

spiritual_gifts

I love being able to give gifts to others. It is so fun looking for the perfect, most thoughtful gift for that special person. It is great watching their surprise on their face and knowing how much it meant to them. The gift doesn’t have to be the most expensive – it just has to be my best at that time. That is all that God asks of us – to give our best…not THE best. So often we hold back because we feel like we are inadequate or our contribution is of little substance – don’t hold back. Share your gifts! I am not just talking about physical gifts – I am talking mainly about spiritual gifts!
One of my favorite Chapters of all the Bible is Romans 12 and it talks about how to use our gifts. Romans 12 6-8 If you preach, just preach God’s Message, nothing else; if you help, just help, don’t take over; if you teach, stick to your teaching; if you give encouraging guidance, be careful that you don’t get bossy; if you’re put in charge, don’t manipulate; if you’re called to give aid to people in distress, keep your eyes open and be quick to respond; if you work with the disadvantaged, don’t let yourself get irritated with them or depressed by them. Keep a smile on your face.
I have always been told my gift is friendliness – in fact I was always voted Most Friendly throughout my school years. I guess as I have grown older – some may call it hospitality and even in the professional world it is called Networking. I would say that I love doing that! I love making people feel included, welcome and I try to use this gift not only to improve myself but for God. I greet people at church or include people in conversations or invite them to small group or even ask them to serve with me. Your Spiritual Gifts are the gifts that keep on giving over and over!

th
I Corinthians 12 4-11 God’s various gifts are handed out everywhere; but they all originate in God’s Spirit. God’s various ministries are carried out everywhere; but they all originate in God’s Spirit. God’s various expressions of power are in action everywhere; but God himself is behind it all. Each person is given something to do that shows who God is: Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits. All kinds of things are handed out by the Spirit, and to all kinds of people! The variety is wonderful:
• wise counsel
• clear understanding
• simple trust
• healing the sick
• miraculous acts
• proclamation
• distinguishing between spirits
• tongues
• interpretation of tongues.
All these gifts have a common origin, but are handed out one by one by the one Spirit of God. He decides who gets what, and when.

So I encourage you to determine what you gift is and then think how you can use it for God. The blessings and gifts back to yourself are unbelievable!
I also know that I have a gift for sharing my story and I haven’t done that lately. So here is my gift to you and to myself. I am going to start sharing again. What gift will you share today?  If you are not sure what your gifts are – ask others, take course on spiritual gifts, pray….Finding your gift and using it is a great feeling!

Give a gift today!

Leigh

About LeighChristian

Your Connections Coach, a Christian, Mom, Wife, Daughter, Sister, Aunt, Friend, Volunteer, Hard Worker, Life Changer, Leader - and so much more! I am 51 years old (yes for real), live in Alabama and am a re-energized Christian. I am changing my life one thing at a time. I am making Physical, Mental and Spiritual Changes. I hope to encourage you to change things that you want to change. I share about my life and things that I think are important. I didn't start out to have a Christian blog, but that is clearly where God led me! Pray for me as I share my story. I am known for my connections...to God, others and self! I have founded a Christian Ministry with a good friend called Empire ChristFit. We will start a blog in that name as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

