Talking to God

So today is Sunday so I talk to God more than usual today.  It just seems appropriate doesn’t it – after all it is the Lord’s Day.  Well, I want to make a point to talk to God everyday!  I saw a picture on facebook that made me really think…WOW!  Sad but true…we treat our cellphones with more respect than our Bibles and even God.  Why is that?  It is easier to talk to God – you don’t even have to have a phone…you just think or say it out loud.  God answers every time!  Teens these days and even some adults have become so addicted to their phones – why not to God?  Read this and think is this you?  I’m embarrassed to say it has been me for sure.

ImageStart talking to God more….

Here are some ideas and suggestions on how and when to talk to God:

1.)  Well, I realize I can talk to God all the time –  1 Thes. 5:17  states – Pray without ceasing.  Well, that seems impossible but I see it that God just wants us to be in a continuous conversation with him!  Who else wants that?  TALK TO GOD!

2.)  Pray like Daniel in the Bible.  Daniel 6:10 Now when Daniel learned that the decree had been published, he went home to his upstairs room where the windows opened toward Jerusalem. Three times a day he got down on his knees and prayed, giving thanks to his God, just as he had done before.  He kept on praying even when it wasn’t the “in” thing.

3.)  Pray for all kinds of reasons – when you are stressed, need love and understanding, need forgiveness, or are sad because of sickness or death.  Ephesians 6:18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

4.)  Never give up!  Even Jesus taught in the parable of the persistent widow.Luke 18 NIV

<< Luke 18 >>
New International Version 1984

The Parable of the Persistent Widow

1Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up. 2He said: “In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared about men. 3And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ‘Grant me justice against my adversary.’4“For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or care about men, 5yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice, so that she won’t eventually wear me out with her coming!’” 6And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says. 7And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?”

5.  Also remember – God answers prayers – it just may not be the answer we are looking for.  Sometimes we think he forgot or said no but many times – he has something so much better in mind!

Image

Hope you will take time to make time for God!  Call him up today!

Physical – I will bow my head and kneel at least once a day in prayer.

Mental – I will meditate and go to God in prayer daily!  I will go to Hope Chapel and pray for thirty minutes at least once a week or more.

Spiritual – I will pray all the time!  So if you see me – I probably just said a little breath prayer for you because I know God knows my heart and he knows I mean it.

Prayers for you as you increase your prayer life.  Talk to God – he always listens and always cares!

Pray for me that I will continue to be strong with my Lent Commitment and in my prayer life!

Love ya,

Leigh

About Leighchristian

Your Connections Coach, a Christian, Mom, Wife, Daughter, Sister, Aunt, Friend, Volunteer, Hard Worker, Life Changer - and so much more! I am 49 years old (yes for real), live in Alabama and am a re-energized Christian. I am changing my life one thing at a time. I am making Physical, Mental and Spiritual Changes. I hope to encourage you to change things that you want to change. I share about my life and things that I think are important. I didn't start out to have a Christian blog, but that is clearly where God led me! Pray for me as I share my story. I am known for my connections...to God, others and self!
This entry was posted in God, Make a change in you!, Progress, self improvement, Time, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talking to God

Leave a Reply

